10 Years

On the evening of June 5, 2004, I watched horses break from a starting gate for the very first time. I was nine.

How many races have I seen since? Thousands? Tens of thousands? Each as thrilling as the one before.

My first race was a crushing defeat. Birdstone denies Smarty Jones a Triple Crown. And now, ten years later, we find ourselves on the cusp of potential glory yet again.

When I was little, the colorful works of turf writers inspired me to fall in love with the sport. Now, my one wish is to inspire those just like me at that age with my words.

Horse racing needs its leaders, its followers, its workers, and its voices. 10 years after it all began for me, I wish to be its words.

There are many stories, good and bad, yet to chronicle in the decades to come. I hope to capture them all.

I hope to keep the love of my life alive forever. Because every time horses spring from a starting gate, I fall in love all over again.

The names and faces of horses and humans are etched into my mind for eternity.

Racing has given me a chance to make a mark on the world.

I love horse racing.

Happy 10 years, racing.

Here’s to many, many, many more.

Leave a comment

Filed under Racing

Leave a Reply

