Happy Anniversary

Dear friends,

Happy Tuesday! We’ve successfully survived the hullabaloo of the Derby and are now looking forward to the Preakness. Today, though, I want to take a moment to reflect.

You see, it’s been a year since I started this blog (it originated on Blogspot; this WordPress came to be on the 1st of January). To be honest, I didn’t have enormous expectations for it. I just really wanted to write about horse racing, a sport I love, and a blog seemed like the perfect outlet. It was also a way to get my writing out there, as a high school graduate going into university as a journalism major.

But somehow, through sometimes cringe-worthy self-promotion and a few people liking what they read, it all worked out, and I got noticed. Looking forward to the future, this first little step might have been the most important one I took in my life.

Thank you to all who supported me along the way. Thank you for the likes, the shares, the comments, the criticism, and the friendliness. I’ve met so many great people through this game. It’s all been worth it. Thank you for giving me a shot. Horse racing is the greatest, isn’t it?

I want to say an extra-special thank you to Ray Paulick and the rest of the Paulick Report staff, for inviting me into your fold. My job is the absolute best thing in my life. Honestly, how many people get to say that?! You guys are amazing.

It’s been an absolute dream, guys. One year of writing down and decades more to come.

With all my love and gratitude,

Emily

Leave a comment

Filed under Racing

Leave a Reply

